Visiting Nastya’s home

Crossing the border to Kazakhstan, our 22nd country on the journey, we arrive to the region of East Kazakhstan where Nastya had been brought up and her family lives. Life here is different from ours. Get married, have kids, buy a car, buy an apartment. We are a gigantic fail in this value system. Of course just like anywhere else most people are excited to travel to far away lands and listen to our stories. However Nastya’s parents find it very difficult to see why we do and what we do (and why you’d quit a good job for it!). A story like ours isn’t something you come by here everyday. A great challenge for me to improve my Russian skills over some healthy lunch discussions 🙂

A few days ago somebody had shared this fantastic article about Bronnie Ware’s book “The Regrets of the Dying” on facebook. As a nurse working in palliative care she had listened to the last minutes and hours of people before they die and when I read the list I was reminded of our choices to quit jobs and life as we knew it and set off to cycle towards the horizon, day after day, month after month, now in our second year and not bored a bit. There’s no TV, no smoking, little alcohol. We eat healthier than ever before. We are healthy and we meet inspiring and positive people all the time. (Even here in Kurchatov are couchsurfers.) All this is very different from “normal life” as we lived it before. Why wouldn’t we be happy?

1. I wish I’d had the courage to live a life true to myself, not the life others expected of me.

2. I wish I didn’t work so hard.

3. I wish I’d had the courage to express my feelings.

4. I wish I had stayed in touch with my friends.

5. I wish that I had let myself be happier.

REGRETS OF THE DYING

Thanks to Your support we made it to 22 countries! Regards from Kazakhstan

Make a Donation Button

3 thoughts on “Visiting Nastya’s home

  1. Hi Sascha (nice ‘stache!) and Nastya,
    I hadn’t read your posts in a long time (was having my own 6 week adventure in the US 🙂 But, this one really resonated with me. I had read the ‘Regrets of the Dying’ before, but it’s always good to have a reminder. Luckily, I love what I do (and I make a living at it), but it’s good to remember to not worry about being ‘normal’ – I never will be 🙂
    I’m SO glad you’re both well and still enjoying the ride! Take care.
    Jeanne

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.